Puritan Separatists aboard the Mayflower

¥

OVERVIEW

Named for the ship that brought the Pilgrims to New England, the Mayflower Compact was an agreement among the people on board to protect themselves by forming a government under their own laws. Forty-one men signed the compact on November 21, 1620. It became the first plan of self-government ever put in force in the English colonies.

GUIDED READING As you read, consider the following questions:

- Why was the agreement created?
- Why did the 41 men sign the compact?

In the Name of God, Amen. We, whose names are underwritten, the Loyal Subjects of our dread Sovereign Lord King James, by the Grace of God, of Great Britain, France, and Ireland, King, Defender of the Faith, etc. Having undertaken for the Glory of God, and Advancement of the Christian Faith, and the Honour of our King and Country, a Voyage to plant the first Colony in the northern Parts of Virginia; Do by these Presents, solemnly and mutually, in the Presence of God and one another, covenant and combine ourselves together into a civil Body Politick, for our better Ordering and Preservation, and Furtherance of the Ends aforesaid: And by Virtue hereof do enact, constitute, and frame, such just and equal Laws, Ordinances, Acts, Constitutions, and Officers, from time to time, as shall be thought most meet and convenient for the general Good of the Colony; unto which we promise all due Submission and Obedience. In Witness whereof we have hereunto subscribed our names at Cape-Cod the eleventh of November, in the Reign of our Sovereign Lord King James, of England, France, and Ireland, the eighteenth, and of Scotland, the fifty-fourth, Anno Domini, 1620.

Mr. John Carver Mr. William Bradford Mr. Edward Winslow Edward Tilly Mr. William White Thomas Rogers Thomas Rogers Thomas Tinker John Turner Francis Eaton James Chilton Digery Priest Thomas Williams Gilbert Winslow Edmund Margesson

Mr. Samuel Fuller Mr. Christopher Martin Mr. William Mullins Mr. William Brewster Francis Cooke Myles Standish John Alden John Howland Mr. Steven Hopkins Richard Gardiner Mr. John Allerton Thomas English Edward Doten Edward Liester Peter Brown Richard Britteridge George Soule John Tilly Isaac Allerton Mr. Richard Warren John Ridgdale Edward Fuller Richard Clark John Craxton John Billington Joses Fletcher John Goodman